Struggling to motivate yourself?

73 Days to Race Day

Running is hard. Anyone who says it is is either lying, or has never run before in their life. I know that sometimes I can find it really hard to motivate myself to go out for a run, so I thought I’d write a post about the things I do to make myself get up and go. I have found it really hard to motivate myself recently as I had to take a week off after hurting my foot. I thought I would actually be excited to run again but it turned out that it was was lot harder. I was nervous that my foot would still be hurting and I was also nervous about how unfit I might have become in that week off. So these ideas might seem really obvious and cliché but I can honestly say that they really work. If you’re trying to motivate yourself to get fit give some of the ideas a go, and you might surprise yourself.

Enter a race:

When I say this I don’t mean you have to do what I did and wake up one morning and think ‘you know what, I’m going to enter the London marathon.’ But entering some sort of charity fun run or even just a park run is a really good way of making yourself get fit. It will give you a goal that you won’t be able to just give up on or push back because the race will be on a set date and you will have paid an entry fee. You’ll also want to do the best you can if you’re trying to raise money for charity, and you could even hold a sweepstake where people bet on how fast you can finish the race. If that doesn’t motivate you to get fit, I don’t know what will! I decided to run for Alzheimer’s Society and Great Ormond Street Hospital, and knowing that every penny I raise while running will go to help people in need makes it a lot easier. (If you want to help me raise money then please donate via my fundraising page.)

 

Set yourself a goal:

This is quite similar to my first point, but if you set yourself either a weight loss or fitness goal it is a lot easier to motivate yourself to get started. Even though the marathon is my main goal, I like to set myself little goals every couple of weeks. This ranges from running a little bit faster on my long run to being able to hold the plank for an extra 30 seconds. This works with most things in life, as people always say that you’re far more likely to accomplish things if you set yourself manageable goals.

Buy new workout kit: 

This works on a few different levels. On a basic level, if you buy new things you feel obliged to use them as you don’t want to waste your money. But also, I don’t know about you but the idea of going for a run seems much more appealing when you’ve got some really nice new kit to wear. I would definitely recommend TKMaxx as its affordable but also really good quality. My housemate has some stuff from there, and I have some serious workout gear envy right now! I also really want to treat myself to some Victoria’s Secret or Pink workout gear as all of it is just so incredibly pretty. Look how amazing the beach print is on those (super expensive) running leggings!

Reward yourself:

My favourite thing about my long run is that hour after I’ve finished where I feel like I can treat myself to something unhealthy. I mean I’ve run 10 miles and burned nearly 800 calories, no one is gonna stop me from having pizza for dinner! Obviously eating healthily is a major part of getting fit, but even nutritionists say you can treat yourself every once in a while. It’s a great incentive to go out and do that run if you know that you can treat yourself afterwards without feeling guilty. And there’s other ways of rewarding yourself for going out for a run. If you’re like me and love a good Netflix binge watch, I always save it for after my run as then I don’t feel guilty for spending a couple of hours in bed watching Netflix. After all I feel like the run has meant my day was somewhat productive so I’m allowed a rest!

Find a training buddy:

I know that most people like to run by themselves, but running with someone else can be a great motivator. Because you know you’re meeting someone you’re far less likely to just cop out of the run as you have made a commitment to the other person. It can also just make your runs a little bit more interesting as its perfectly acceptable to run at a pace where you can comfortably have a conversation. I have a running buddy, and I can honestly say that there have been days where the only reason I got out of bed was because I knew Midge was gonna be at my door in like 20 minutes!

Even though I had a week off, I’m still going to end with three positive things from last week:

  1. I cared enough about my body to realise that it needed a break, and this didn’t make me feel as guilty as I thought it would.
  2. I’ve realised that although it’s hard to get out and run, I did actually miss running while I wasn’t doing it.
  3. I’ve noticed that my muscles are getting stronger, which for a tiny weak girl is actually quite exciting!

Love and kisses,

Aimee.

One thought on “Struggling to motivate yourself?

Leave a Reply

