Revision vs Running

93 days to Race Day

So I’m only halfway into my third week of training, and I’ve already discovered that juggling university life and marathon training is a lot harder than I anticipated! To be fair to myself, I think the only reason I’ve struggled so much over the past few days is because it was exam week. It got to the point where I was so conflicted about whether I should go for a run, or stay in to revise that I ended up wasting time panicking and doing neither! Thankfully though I’ve now done my last ever exam of my academic career (which makes me both super happy and totally terrified at the same time), so I can now relax for a week until next semester officially starts and it all gets hectic again. 

One thing that this experience has taught me so far is that I need to be a lot more organised. I’ve also now realised that I’m probably going to have to start getting up earlier and running in the mornings to give myself more time to do my work. As someone who is definitely not a morning person, I am really not looking forward to that! But at the end of the day, it will mean that I get more work done, and spend less of my day just wasting time thinking about what I’m supposed to be doing. 

Even though the first half of this week has been a bit crazy, last week was actually really good. I went for my first run with my leggy running buddy Midge, who’s limbs are so long that I have to take about three steps for each one of hers. I also managed to do an 8 mile run at an average pace of 8 min 20 per mile, which is a lot faster than last weeks long run. I did totally ruin my shoes though, as most of my run was along the Thames Path, which was extremely muddy! It was worth it though, as its so nice to run along the river. The views are great, there’s no roads to cross, and the only people you come across are mostly just other runners or people walking their dogs. Even though it was absolutely freezing, and I got covered in mud, I would definitely recommend running along the river if you live in London. It actually starts to get fun running through the mud after a while, and it’s so much more satisfying to have a really hot shower when you’re cold and caked in mud.

One piece of advice I was given at the Alzheimer’s Society training day was to list three positive things about your training that week, whether it’s about your actual runs, your diet or even just how you’ve been better at looking after your body. (By the way if you haven’t read my last post, please do as it explains part of my motivation to do this marathon.) That way, when you’re feeling nervous the night before the race you can read through them and help yourself to be more positive. My three things this week are:

  1. I’ve managed to stay committed to my training even though I absolutely cannot deal with cold weather.
  2. I’ve realised that if I train hard, I could possibly run the marathon in 3 and half hours, which I would be extremely proud of. 
  3. I’ve managed to make myself eat something every morning, even though I normally never eat breakfast.

If you’re in training then I would strongly suggest you try to think of three positive things each week, as trying to get to sleep the night before a race is really difficult, and I think that re-reading positive thoughts from your training will hopefully be relaxing!

Love and kisses

Aimee

 

 

One thought on “Revision vs Running

Leave a Reply

